Select Page

The Los Angeles Lakers recently defeated the Miami Heat in six games to win the NBA title. This is the first championship since 2010 for the Lakers. It was also the fourth title for superstar LeBron James. Here is a recap of the 2020 NBA Finals.


Game 1

The Lakers showed why they were the NBA’s best team all season by dominating Game 1. Anthony Davis and LeBron James took complete control of the game from the opening tip. A 17-point lead at halftime expanded to 26 points by the end of the third quarter. With the stars on the bench in the fourth quarter, the game ended as a 116-98 win for the Lakers.


Game 2

The second game of the series started very similarly to the first. After a tight opening quarter, the Lakers pushed the lead to 14 points at halftime. Miami picked up their game in the second half, but they still fell 124-114.


Game 3

A sweep looked inevitable until the Heat responded in a big way in Game 3. Miami finally found a way to hold Anthony Davis in check. They also got a huge 40-point effort from Jimmy Butler in the 115-104 win.


Game 4

Game 4 was the first evenly matched contest of the series. The teams constantly swapped the lead throughout the first half. Los Angeles held a slim two-point lead at halftime, but they gradually expanded the lead in the third and fourth quarters. A huge late-game effort from LeBron helped the Lakers win 102-96.


Game 5

With their backs against the wall, the Miami Heat played their best offensive game of the series in Game 5. Miami cut their rotation down to seven players. This huge gamble paid off for Erik Spoelstra. All seven players played their best game of the series. Despite allowing LeBron to score 40 points, Miami still staved off elimination with a 111-108 victory.


Game 6

After three tough games, Miami was clearly gassed in Game 6. Their lack of energy allowed the Lakers to grab a 28-point lead at halftime. Miami stepped up their play in the second half, but it was far too late. The Lakers cruised to a 106-93 win to get their 16th NBA championship in franchise history.